How to Create a Product That Can Sell Itself?

Varun Sharma
2 min readMar 2, 2024

--

Photo by NEW DATA SERVICES on Unsplash

When I started my endeavor in product strategy, it felt overwhelming. There was so much I knew I didn’t know, so much I didn’t know that I should know. Every day, it felt like I needed to learn more, but where was I going to apply it?

What I didn’t notice in other content was that there are two major factors: you and your product. We generally focus on the product only, but the core issue might exist somewhere else.

You: Don’t try to be accurate; try to be just enough right to move forward

I believe we tend to stop ourselves if we feel we won’t be able to achieve precision. We stay in our heads, analyzing to create a plan that will guarantee our success, consuming so much information to try to link it all. And we justify ourselves that we are being productive. Stop. This is procrastination. Act on the plan.

The heaviest things in life are not iron and gold, but the unmade decisions.
The reason you are stressed is because you have decisions to make, and you are not making them.

Your product: The game is simple but not easy

If I dumb down the economics, it’s a simple exchange of money and value. You can figure out if you can produce the value someone needs (serving existing markets) or if you can find people who might need your value (creating new markets). And that is all. Whatever strategies you read here and there all revolve around these basic principles.

Since humans say something and do something else, we need analytics to figure out if they are seeing the value and, if so, exactly what that value is. And that’s the core of any product. Other content on strategy serves different dimensions of the product, like marketing, sales, and human psychology.

So, figure out the value and get the money.

I wanted to write this because I believe it serves as a starting point for someone taking steps in this domain. Before you dive deeper into the details and feel lost, I wanted to share the crux.
It’s more like a 50K-foot view of everything, like an eagle’s view. There are a lot of details I intentionally didn’t mention to keep it graspable.
I hope it helped.

--

--

Varun Sharma

Fall in love with building products, now learning to make them successful.